“Mommy I’m Getting Bigger!”

The other evening, my three year old Timmy is laying in the bed with me. We’d just finished reading a  story and were feeling kinda chilled out. He’s laying there with one hand down the front of his pajama pants (as usual), and we have the following conversation;

Timmy: “Mommy, I’m growing up”

Me: “Yes baby, you sure are.”

Timmy: “I’m getting bigger and bigger”

Me: “Yep, sweetie pie. Bigger and bigger every day. I can hardly believe what a big boy you are becoming!”

Timmy: “Yeah, and my p*nis is getting bigger and bigger!”

Me: “… …. Ummm, yep baby you’re getting big …uh, all over… ….”

Timmy: “Yep and my ball getting big too!”

Me: “… ….”

Timmy: as he pulls the front of his pajama pants out, “Look see!”

Me: “Oh, yep. There it is, getting bigger just like…your….feet” (sweating a lil’ bit)

Timmy: “But loooook! You didn’t look Mommy. It getting reeeaallly bigger!

Me: Thinking to self, “Oh sweet baby Jesus…”

To top it off, and I’m not even sure how we got there, but we ended up having a conversation about which was his testicles (which he refers to as his ball…yes, just one…) and which was his p*nis. He seemed to have the two confused and wanted to argue about it as if I didn’t know what I was talking about (!!!???) Now look, I’m sleepy and a little disarmed by the whole conversation. So I just say, “Let’s call Daddy up here. He has the same as you, he’ll tell you which is which…”

Enter my other Timmy, a.k.a. Daddy, Big Timmy, Timmy #1. I quickly catch him up on the last few minutes of toddler conversation, to which he proudly juts his chest out and loudly proclaims, “That’s my boy!”. I roll my eyes and say, “Ok then, you take this one.” I then sit and watch them have a technical conversation regarding the parts of the male package. Then and only then, was Little Timmy convinced about what was where… Good Lord Almighty…

This entry was posted in children, family, humor, Life, parenting, preschool and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Mommy I’m Getting Bigger!”

  1. LOL! I saw your comment on my blog and clicked on your link. Aren’t boys the funniest things? And then they grow up to be…gasp…men. Too much!! 🙂

  2. Having a son has given me a TOTALLY different perspective on men! What I see at three isn’t all that different from what you see twenty and thirty years later. Insightful and not that surprising, but kind of a bummer…

Leave a Reply

